Skip to content
The Thief of Lanwyn Manor by Sarah E. Ladd

The Thief of Lanwyn Manor

In the second novel in the Cornwell series, beloved Regency author Sarah E. Ladd shares the tale of a woman torn between the owner of a copper mineand his brother.

The Thief of Lanwyn Manor by Sarah E. Ladd

Cornwall, England, 1811

In this sweet Regency romance, Julia knows Matthew Blake, copper mine owner and very eligible bachelor, is the gentleman she should set her eyes upon. But why can’t she steal her gaze away from his younger brother, Isaac?

Julia Twethewey needs a diversion to mend her broken heart, so when her cousin invites her to Lanwyn Manor, Julia eagerly accepts. Lanwyn Manor is at the heart of Cornwall’s mining industry, and as a guest Julia is swept into its intricate world. It’s not long, though, before she realizes something dark lurks in the home’s ancient halls.

As a respected mine owner’s younger son, Isaac Blake is determined to keep his late father’s legacy alive through the family business, despite his brother’s careless attitude. In order to save their livelihood—and the livelihood of those around them—the brothers approach the master of Lanwyn Manor with plans to bolster the floundering local industry. Isaac can’t deny his attraction to the man’s charming niece, but his brother has made his intentions to court the lovely guest clear. And Isaac knows his place.

When tragedy strikes, mysteries arise, and items go missing, Julia and Isaac find they are pulled together in a swirl of strange circumstances, but despite their own best efforts to bow to social expectations, their hearts aren’t so keen to surrender.

Industry & Author Praise

Northanger Abbey meets Poldark against the resplendent and beautifully realized landscape of Cornwall. The thinking woman’s romance, The Thief of Lanwyn Manor is an unputdownable escape.” —Rachel McMillan, author of the Van Buren and DeLuca series

“Julia Twethewey joins Ladd’s collection of clever heroines and along with the honorable (and Poldark-esque) Isaac Blake, their story anchors the foray into Cornwall’s copper mining legacy with historical accuracy and brilliant heart.” —Kristy Cambron, bestselling author of The Lost Castle series

Goodreads Rating

Buy Now From Your Favorite Bookseller

Click any Cover Below to Read Free Sample Chapters

Meet the Author

Sarah E Ladd Min

Sarah E. Ladd

Sarah E. Ladd has always loved the Regency period—the clothes, the music, the literature and the art. A college trip to England and Scotland confirmed her interest in the time period and gave her idea of what life would've looked like in era.

It wasn't until 2010 that Ladd began writing seriously. Shortly after, Ladd released the first book in the Whispers on the Moors series. Book one of the series, The Heiress of Winterwood, was the recipient of the 2011 ACFW Genesis Award for historical romance.