Skip to content
Wishtress - Nadine Brandes



A new young adult fiction and fantasy novel about a girl born with the ability to turn her tears into wishes. But when a granted wish goes wrong, she is cursed: the next tear she sheds will kill her.

She didn’t ask to be the Wishtress.

Myrthe was born with the ability to turn her tears into wishes. But when a granted wish goes wrong, she is cursed: the next tear she sheds will kill her. To break the curse she must travel to the Well before it claims her life—and before the king’s militairen find her. To survive the journey, Myrthe will have to harden her heart to keep herself from crying even a single tear.

He can stop time with a snap of his fingers.

Bastiaan’s powerful—and rare—Talent came in handy when he kidnapped the old king. Now the new king has a job for him: find the Wishtress and deliver her to the schloss. But Bastiaan needs a wish of his own. He gains Myrthe’s trust by promising to take her to the Well, but once he gets what he needs, he’ll turn her in. As long as his growing feelings for the girl with a stone heart don’t compromise his job.

Their quest can end only one way: with her death.

Everyone seems to need a wish—the king, Myrthe’s cousin, the boy she thinks she loves. And they’re ready to bully, beg, and betray her for it. No one knows that to grant even one wish, Myrthe would pay with her life. And if she tells them about the curse . . . they’ll just kill her anyway.

Wishtress Amazon A


“Richly imagined worldbuilding that’s complemented by complex characters . . . Brandes’s fluid prose adeptly details the fantastical world of Winterune, and Myrthe and Bastiaan’s seemingly forbidden romance handily propels the plot toward a climactic resolution."

Publishers Weekly

"The battle for good and evil gets a unique twist in this imaginative and beautifully written fantasy, with the Wishtress caught in the center of the fight. You'll want a magical wish for yourself when you get the breathtaking finish!"

—Sara B. Larson, author of Dark Break the Dawn and the
Defy trilogy 

"A gorgeous fantasy about incredible power just out of reach. Myrthe's and Baastian's stories interweave into a beautiful tale about self-worth, second chances, and mysterious enchantment."

—Kathryn Purdie, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Burning Glass and Bone Crier’s Moon

Wishtress Amazon C


Nadine Brandes Web Author


Nadine Brandes once spent four days as a sea cook in the name of book research. She is the author of FawkesRomanov, and the award-winning Out of Time series. Her inner fangirl perks up at the mention of soul-talk, Quidditch, bookstagram, and Oreos. When she's not busy writing novels about bold living, she's adventuring through Middle Earth or taste-testing a new chai. Nadine, her Auror husband, and their Halfling son are building a Tiny House on wheels. Current mission: paint the world in shalom.

Visit Nadine online at

Instagram: @NadineBrandes
YouTube: @NadineBrandes
Twitter: @NadineBrandes
Facebook: @NadineBrandesAuthor


Sign up to receive email updates on new releases, Goodreads Giveaways, e-book deals, and more.